Bankruptcy Courts in Louisiana: Navigating the Complexities with Creditors’ Rights Attorneys

Louisiana Bankruptcy Overview

Bankruptcy can be a daunting and intricate legal process, involving numerous rules and procedures that vary from one jurisdiction to another. In Louisiana, there are three separate bankruptcy districts, each with its own unique set of local rules and practices. Understanding these nuances requires the expertise of seasoned attorneys focused in creditors’ rights. Competent representation is crucial for creditors looking to maximize recovery while protecting the borrowers’ rights and limiting creditor liability. Let’s explore the bankruptcy courts in Louisiana and how creditors’ rights attorneys play a crucial role in this complex landscape.

The Western District is the largest geographic district in Louisiana, encompassing over 40 parishes divided into five divisions. With four Chapter 13 trustees and three judges, it is a significant area of bankruptcy activity. The Alexandria Division, presided over by Judge Stephen D. Wheelis, covers parishes such as Avoyelles, Catahoula, Concordia, Grant, La Salle, Natchitoches, Rapides, and Winn. In the Lafayette Division, Judge John W. Kolwe oversees bankruptcy cases from parishes including Acadia, Evangeline, Iberia, Lafayette, St. Landry, St. Martin, St. Mary, and Vermilion. The Lake Charles Division, also under the purview of Judge John W. Kolwe, handles cases from Allen, Beauregard, Calcasieu, Cameron, Jefferson Davis, and Vernon parishes. Finally, the Monroe Division, overseen by Chief Judge John Hodge and Judge Stephen D. Wheelis, serves Caldwell, East Carroll, Franklin, Jackson, Lincoln, Madison, Morehouse, Ouachita, Richland, Tensas, Union, and West Carroll parishes.

Moving to the Eastern District, this district encompasses Orleans and surrounding parishes, which are densely populated areas with high bankruptcy activity. The Eastern District has two judges: Judge Meredith S. Grabill and Judge Michael A. Crawford. The Chapter 13 trustee for this district is Sterling J. Beaulieu, Jr. The parishes covered in the Eastern District include Assumption, Jefferson, Lafourche, Orleans, Plaquemines, St. Bernard, St. Charles, St. James, St. John the Baptist, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Terrebonne, and Washington.

In the Middle District, which bears a demographic resemblance to the Eastern District, Judge Michael A. Crawford presides over bankruptcy cases. The Chapter 13 trustee for this district is Annette C. Crawford. Parishes falling within the Middle District include Ascension, East Baton Rouge, East Feliciana, Iberville, Livingston, Pointe Coupee, St. Helena, West Baton Rouge, and West Feliciana.

Bankruptcy courts in Louisiana can be complex and challenging to navigate without the guidance of experienced creditors’ rights attorneys. The Creditors’ Rights team at Hudson, Potts & Bernstein play a crucial role in advocating for their clients during bankruptcy proceedings. The team helps creditors understand their rights and options, ensuring they are properly represented, and their claims are appropriately addressed. These attorneys are well-versed in bankruptcy law and can develop strategies to maximize their clients’ chances of recovering debts owed to them.

Whether you find yourself involved in bankruptcy proceedings in the Western, Eastern, or Middle District, consulting with a seasoned creditors’ rights attorney is crucial to ensuring your interests are protected throughout the process.

Attorneys focused on Creditors’ Rights in Bankruptcy at Hudson, Potts & Bernstein LLP:

Jason R. Smith